Fern maybe?

Discussion in 'Plant ID' started by Ronni, Mar 4, 2017.

1. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple

I rescued this houseplant at the end of the season last year from my local grocery store. It was on its last legs, was actually being thrown away but I know the gal who tends the plant/flower section and I asked her if I could just have it..she said sure.

It didn't do much for the longest time, and I wasn't sure if it was going to come back. But it's tenacious I guess, it recently started putting out some tentative new shoots that look healthy.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I particularly like the way the new shoots start....look at these adorable little spirals!! :heart:

[​IMG]

Cayuga Morning, LIcenter and carolyn like this.
  2. Loading...

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

I'm no fern expert Ronni but yours resembles Davallia fejeensis. There's another one that it may be too that's called Pteris ensiformis. Hopefully someone else can shed more light on a name for it than I can. It's really quite attractive with it's variegated foliage isn't it? I also love the way the new shoots form those little spirals. Well done you for rescuing it and bringing it back to life.

4. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Cayuga Morning likes this.
  5. Islandlife

Islandlife Young Pine

Looks like a fern to me but all I can go with is "fern." Neat that it's survived. Am pretty certain in a couple of seasons it'll be really lush.

Advertisement
  6. LIcenter

LIcenter In Flower

Love the fiddleheads coming up.

7. Cayuga Morning

Cayuga Morning Strong Ash Plants Contributor

Pretty little fern Ronni. I have seen that fern about, but never knew it's name.

8. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple

Fiddleheads? Is that your name for that new growth, or is that an actual term? I LOVE it, whatever its origin! Exactly appropriate for what they look like! :D

9. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple