How to make strong Spearmint Tea

Discussion in 'Herb Gardening' started by dragon49, Sep 5, 2013.

1. dragon49

dragon49 New Seed

I have tons of dried Spearmint that I had picked myself. It is growing wild, just outside my garden fence. I tried to make some tea, but was disappointed:

I stuffed a large tea ball with as many leaves as I could fit in, and let it steep for fifteen minutes in an eight ounce coffee cup filled with boiling water. The tea smelled delicious, but it was like drinking hot water, with a little bit of flavor.

Then, when I ate the soaked re-hydrated leaves, I experienced the delicious intense spicy flavor that I wished the tea tasted like.

It is clear that the tea ball infusion does not get enough of the flavor from Spearmint. How do I make strong Spearmint tea? There must be a better technique.

Thanks

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. kathyd
      Replies:
      Views:

3. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple

I have no experience with this. But your description indicates that the leaves will not release their strong flavor until they're crushed (eating the soaked leaves ) so perhaps you could incorporate some crushing into some step of the tea making?

4. Netty

Netty Chaotic Gardener Plants Contributor

I make mint tea as well. I find if I stuff my tea ball too full, it doesn't release the full flavor. The water needs to be able to move thru the leaves. Try using less leaves, and maybe crush them up a little.

5. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

I think you need to put the leaves in the hot water and allow them to move around, then strain the tea through a strainer. The tea bags sometimes have mint oil added to the dried tea to make it stronger. Never let the water simmer or boil, either. That will destroy the flavinoids that you are wanting to taste in your tea.

Advertisement
  6. dragon49

dragon49 New Seed