Incrediball Hydrangea New Plant Problems

Discussion in 'Flower Gardening' started by mijurdzy, Jul 25, 2014.

1. mijurdzy

mijurdzy New Seed

I purchased 2 Incrediball Hydrangea plants 2 1/2 weeks ago. We have clay soil, so I added in some topsoil as well as some cow manure compost when I planted. The plants are in partial sun, partial shade and I have been watering every morning religiously since it is July and 80?s here in Michigan (zone 5-6). Over the 2 weeks I have noticed leaves spotting and browning, some drying out and dying completely. The actual flowering balls that existed when I purchased the plants, which was about 3 each, are starting to turn yellowish green and look lifeless, and I have not seen any new growth whatsoever. This is my first time gardening so any advice would be appreciated. I thought hydrangea were a foolproof plant for my first time, and I also expected the plants to start looking bigger and brighter much faster than they are. How long should it take for new blooms? Should I be worried about the brown leaves? I’ve also noticed ants on the lower leaves, but don’t see any other bugs or mildew. Not sure if they are diseased or if I just need to be more patient. Thank you for any advice!

[​IMG]
    ( photo / image / picture from mijurdzy's Garden )

[​IMG]
    ( photo / image / picture from mijurdzy's Garden )

2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Welcome to GardenStew!!

Any plant newly in the ground takes sometimes up to a month to become established. They do not put out any new growth above the ground until the roots are settled in and growing.

The blooms will die off naturally but in this case you might want to go ahead and cut them off. The roots are having to keep them alive and get themselves established so the plant is most likely stressed from that.