Is my Swedish Ivy okay?

Discussion in 'Houseplants' started by Kinza Hasan, Mar 4, 2016.

1. Kinza Hasan

Kinza Hasan New Seed

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to this forum and posted a little introduction earlier. I'm a very novice houseplant owner living in Manhattan and I thought I would join to learn from this online community.

Currently, my favorite houseplant (after my blooming jasmine plant) is my Swedish Ivy. I've noticed recently that it's not looking as spritely as it did before.

Some information:
    1) I've had it for about a month, repotted it into a bigger pot
    2) I mist it every morning and night.
    3) I make sure it has a moist soil but I usually wait for the soil to dry a little on top before watering again - this ends up being once every two weeks. That seems like not enough, but I've been using my soil indicator very frequently to check and it seems to always have enough water.
    4) However, sometimes it reads "wet," which worries me a little. The water isn't sitting on the soil or anything - it's fully incorporated, but it does read "wet."

I heard I should be pinching back on the Swedish Ivy but I don't know how to do it or where to start! I want this guy to get bushy and stay that dark green, shiny way it used to be.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
    Kinza IMG_6745.JPG

Sjoerd likes this.
  2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. mfcc85
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. Cali
      Replies:
      Views:

3. Sjoerd

Sjoerd Mighty Oak

Hey There Kinza,

I had to look up the Latin name to be sure of which plant you were talking about. hahaha.

I know this plant as La Planta del Dinero or sometimes simply, Moneda. I had a huge one when I lived in Spain. Here we call it, Geldplant.

Right then miss--on to your questions: