My squash and gourds flower, but make no fruit, What's wrong

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by seedfreak, Aug 10, 2007.

1. seedfreak

seedfreak New Seed

Hi, I hope someone can help me, My squash and gourds have lots of flowers, but they aren't making any fruit at all. what can I do? :?:

2. Loading...

3. desertflower

desertflower Seedling

Could be too much nitrogen. It makes beautiful lush plants, but little or no fruit.

4. seedfreak

seedfreak New Seed

My soil isn't far removed from "beach sand" got any ideas what it needs to get it to make fruit?

5. Netty

Netty Chaotic Gardener Plants Contributor

I'm no expert on Squash or Gourds, but I believe that there are male and female flowers and only the female flowers make fruit. Hopefully someone else knows more about it.

Advertisement
  6. desertflower

desertflower Seedling

7. harveymoon

harveymoon New Seed

squash n gourd

hi seedfreak. sounds like a pollenation problem, pick a male flower, strip off the yellow petal leaving the stamen then brush inside the female to manualy pollenate ( works every time ) soon you will have enough fruit for you and the neighbours,happy growing T T F N harveymoon.

8. seedfreak

seedfreak New Seed

Thanks a bunch Harvey moon, I will try that this afternoon. Can there be too many squash?

9. nan1234

nan1234 Seedling

Do you see female flowers? Female flowers are easily identified. A tiny baby fruit is located between the stem and the flower.

If you do not see female flowers, maybe you just wait for another couple of weeks. Squash and gourds starts with lots of male flowers first. Female flowers will emerge after a couple of weeks.

If you see that female flowers die and fall off, then you may have the pollenation problem. Squash and gourds need insects for pollenation.