New Girl from Colorado

Discussion in 'Welcome to GardenStew' started by Quiyn, Jul 27, 2017.

1. Quiyn

Quiyn New Seed

Hello everyone. I'm Quiyn. I looked through a couple of different gardening forums and this one seemed to be the friendliest and most active, so here I am.

I'm really excited to get started. I'm 16 and from Colorado. My dad just accepted and new position and we moved into a house, and he promised me a yard so I could start veggie gardening. Dad and I lived for the past five years in an apartment in downtown Seattle. But now I have a yard, and Dad has given me free reign over it. But besides a garden, he's given me the job of getting the lawn in better shape. The house was on the market most of the summer and it's been hot and dry, so it's pretty pathetic. I've spent the last week pulling weeds.

When I'm not gardening (which until a week ago was never), I'm a high school student (junior this year), a dance/theater/fitness photographer, and hope to go to college to become a nutritionist.

Anyhow, I know it's too late to start gardening this season (I want to do veggies because I love to cook). I really have a love of plants and have started buying different books to help get me started. I look forward to picking everyone's brains here and there and learning from the experts.

Thank you all!

Odif likes this.
  2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Hi Quiyn, welcome to GardenStew from north central Texas. What part of Colorado are you in....flat land or mountains? Glad to have you join us.
    Since it is too late for you to plant, it's the perfect time to get the plot ready for next Spring. Mark out the size, install an edging, dig out the lawn and weeds then dig in lots and lots of compost. Then next Spring dig in more compost and start planting when the temperature is right.
    And winter is a great time to start drooling over seed/plant catalogs and dreaming of next years harvest.