Potato question, the leaves died but are growing again.

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by Growingpains, Aug 4, 2011.

1. Growingpains

Growingpains Young Pine

I'm sorry. I know there is a potato topic already, but either I am blind or that topic is so far back as to elude me.
    My question is,
    is it unusual for potato stalks to be turning brown and suddenly put out new growth? I thought I would be harvesting them in a week and yesterday I noticed lots of new growth near the base. Today there is lots more. Shall I wait? Shall I go ahead and harvest?

moderator's note: added a more descriptive title to topic

2. Loading...

3. Netty

Netty Chaotic Gardener Plants Contributor

I'm not a potato expert, but I would tend to think that the new crop of potatoes has sent up new leaves. How long were they in the ground?

4. marlingardener

marlingardener Happy

Have you dug around the base of one of the plants to see how big the potatoes are?
    It sounds like the potatoes are sending up new shoots, as Netty suggested. If so, harvest immediately!

5. mart

mart Strong Ash

Dig up one plant and see what you have. Leave them too long and the may rot in the ground. If the tops have died back dig them up.

Advertisement
  6. Growingpains

Growingpains Young Pine

Potatoes

The new growth seems to be coming from the same stalk and some new growth on the end of the stalks. I appreciate all advice and I will dig up one plant and see whats going on beneath the soil.

7. calinromania

calinromania Young Pine

I'm no expert either, parents do the veggies. But I'd guess that doesn't sound too good.
    I'd also check to see if the potatoes are all grown up and dig them out.

8. Growingpains

Growingpains Young Pine

Potatoes