SuperThrive question, apply once or do I keep applying?

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by FountainMan, Apr 10, 2012.

1. FountainMan

FountainMan Seedling

I added SuperThrive to my veggie garden and the stuff works. The plants seem twice as big as when I purchased them a few days ago. However as I've never used it before I want to know do, I apply once or do I keep applying? I took a 1 Liter bottle of water and added about 2 teaspoons to it and only used half the solution among all 5 plants.

Thanks to all.

moderator's note: added a more descriptive title to topic

2. Loading...

3. cherylad

cherylad Countess of Cute-ification Plants Contributor

I was first introduced to SuperThrive years ago by the County Extension Service in New Mexico when I had some newly planted Pinon trees that were not doing well.
    It's not a food... but a "hormone boost". It's great on plants that are going through stress or shock. From planting, transplanting, etc. I typically use it 2 or 3 times a year on everything. Spring when they are waking up and summer when they are struggling with the heat and again in the fall.
    I do use it to "water in" any new plants.
    Also... from memory... that almost sounds like too much of it for a liter of water. Doesn't the label call for about a teaspoon per gallon of water? I doubt it will hurt the plant by using a stronger dose... I've done that before without any ill effects.

FountainMan likes this.
  4. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

I have tried it and didn't see any great difference in the plants. So it got a thumbs down from me.

5. FountainMan

FountainMan Seedling

Works for me. My plants I bought the other day are already close to twice their purchase size. I just needed application tips.

Advertisement
  6. marlingardener

marlingardener Happy

When I volunteered at a native garden at a college, the horticulturist used SuperThrive or its equivalent when we transplanted something, and only once.