What to do with Basil and Sage

Discussion in 'Herb Gardening' started by KOW, Sep 27, 2011.

1. KOW

KOW New Seed

Newbie here. I have a large basil plant and a tri-color sage plant. I don't really want to make pesto with the basil but what other way is there to store the basil and the sage. If I'm drying, can I do that in the oven? Thanks!

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. marlingardener
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. Ronni
      Replies:
      Views:

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

4. Karrma

Karrma In Flower

This is harvest time for my basil, as the nights are getting below 50 degrees F. May have been slightly too long, should have done this yesterday, as the leaves are starting to droop.

[​IMG]
    Basil at harvest time ( photo / image / picture from Karrma's Garden )

I pulled out a couple of my smaller basil plants by the roots, and replanted in the kitchen. This should last for months for small amounts, not enough for a pesto sauce.

[​IMG]
    ( photo / image / picture from Karrma's Garden )

The rest, I pulled off the leaves and tender branches, cleaned, and dried off the excess water. Chopped coarse in the processor, added some olive oil to help preserve texture and flavor.

[​IMG]
    basil prep ( photo / image / picture from Karrma's Garden )

Then put it in a container, removed the air. I dipped the bag in water to squeeze out the air, being careful not to get water in the bag. Ready for the freezer.

[​IMG]
    Ready for freezer ( photo / image / picture from Karrma's Garden )

In the past, I have made pesto and frozen it, but at $30 a pound, pine nuts are not on my grocery list right now.

Many times my sage lasts most of the winter outdoors, so I have not frozen it. It is a much stronger leaf, and freezes ok without processing.

Frank likes this.
  5. Danjensen

Danjensen In Flower

i'm currently processing mine into pesto :)