Worst Gardening Tool??

Discussion in 'The Village Square' started by ajfdesigner, Jul 17, 2015.

1. ajfdesigner

ajfdesigner New Seed

Hello

I'm a product design student in Portland, OR. I am currently working on a project to improve the gardening experience for those 50 years and older. Here is my question. Out of all the tools you use for gardening, which one is the worst to use and why? Is one of your tools painful to use or not work as it should? Basically, what is your least favorite gardening tool/product and why? Any feedback you can offer me will be useful.

Thank you for your time!,

Andrew

2. Loading...

3. 2ofus

2ofus Hardy Maple

I can't help you as, over the last few years, they have make smaller lighter shovels, hoes, and rakes plus pruners that fit a smaller hand and more ergonomic for those with arthritis. Perhaps someone else uses other items that would help you out.

4. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

My question to you is.....Why would we continue to use a gardening tool that was the worst to use?

S-H likes this.
  5. Netty

Netty Chaotic Gardener Plants Contributor

I agree with Toni - bad gardening tools are quickly discarded.

Advertisement
  6. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

The garden weasel. HANDS DOWN! who has enough strength to put pressure on this tool pushing and or pulling to make it work. It only works if you have previously tilled the area and there are no weeds.

Netty likes this.
  7. Coppice

Coppice In Flower

You have asked this on several forums. but it suits my fancy to answer again.

I will compare front-tine rototillers to an old joke about chain-saws.

A lumberjack was sold a chain-saw as a tool to improve the amount of wood he could cut. He paid for his new saw and took it off to the woods.