Any other quilters here?

Discussion in 'Hobbies and Crafts' started by Kiasmum, Sep 20, 2012.

1. Kiasmum

Kiasmum In Flower

Just wondering :D

I've been doing this for almost 3 years now and have at least one project(sometimes more) on the go. I find it an absorbing past-time when the weather is too yuk to venture out.

2. Loading...

3. marlingardener

marlingardener Happy

Yes, I quilt. When we lived up north I made a quilt a year, but since we moved to Texas, I've been gardening more and quilting less. I hoop quilt, rather than using a frame, and the window of opportunity for having a quilt in your lap is very short here!
    Here is a photo of one of the quilts with a "decorative object" in its center:
    [​IMG]
    Summertime, and the livin' is easy ( photo / image / picture from marlingardener's Garden )

4. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Until 2003 I was an obsessive quilter. Besides making quilts for gifts I also sewed quilt tops for a local quilt shop and for a designer in Kansas. I spent 18 years making them then I totally lost interest after damaging my needle pushing finger then started gardening and returned to knitting. I think in that 18 years I made close to 200 quilts ranging in size from wall hangings to 3 king size bed quilts.

I sold my Elna 5 years ago but the friend who bought my last contest quilt also gave me an old machine his former wife left behind and I have been toying with the idea of making a few tops again and either having them quilted for me or just selling the tops. I have gotten rid of much of my fabric stash but still have some favorites in boxes in my craft room.

http://www.gardenstew.com/blog/e285-89- ... quilt.html

http://www.gardenstew.com/blog/e285-88- ... ciety.html

http://www.gardenstew.com/blog/e285-86- ... or-me.html

http://www.gardenstew.com/blog/e285-85- ... entry.html

http://www.gardenstew.com/blog/e285-84- ... ntion.html

5. glendann