Blueberry Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Trees, Shrubs and Roses' started by GoosePlumBucket, Apr 26, 2019.

1. GoosePlumBucket

GoosePlumBucket New Seed

I need some advice about what to do with my blueberry patch.

We recently purchased this Maine home late last fall, and having established blueberries was one of the selling points for me. During closing I was told these plants are several years old. Perhaps upwards of 5 years if memory serves.

I am new to gardening and have been doing my research and I don’t believe these blueberries have been given/placed/cared for correctly. However I am not sure how to correct or what specifically should be corrected for them. ( I wouldn’t want to cause more harm than good)

Currently there are 2 rows of plants spaced approx. 2 feet between plants and 3 feet between the rows. For a total of 10.

I have included a photo for reference.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

Sjoerd likes this.
  2. Loading...

3. Dirtmechanic

Dirtmechanic Young Pine

Use a acid loving plant fertilizer, preferrably with the highest calcium level you can find. Get a pH meter or test the soil. 5.5 is good. Lower and phosphorous begins to become unavailable

Last edited: Apr 28, 2019
  4. mart

mart Strong Ash

About all I know is that they are acid lovers ! Try looking at a major university in your area ! They should have growing/pruning instructions for blueberries !

5. Cayuga Morning

Cayuga Morning Strong Ash Plants Contributor

They look pretty young to me. The blueberry growers around our town have bushes that are 5-6 feet in height. I am guessing yours still have a lot of life in them.

You will probably need to get some netting on them once the berries are almost ripe. The birds have a sharp eye & make short work of a blueberry crop.