Designers mate

Discussion in 'Interior Design' started by toonarmy898, Sep 28, 2007.

1. toonarmy898

toonarmy898 New Seed

Hi, im a sixth form student studying a product design A-level. for my product i am making a storage device for designers drawing and sketching equipment. it will have have various mounting abilities, such as to the wall or on a drawing board. the arm supporting it will be manoevreable so it can be moved around while drawing to give easy access.
    To further research my product i wanted to investigate what designers thought about the idea and whether they had any additional ideas.

thanks for your time.

2. Loading...

3. rushme

rushme New Seed

Hi Toonarmy, your product will rock in designer i am sure of that. I am a practicing architect and commercial artist by profession, so i know the difficulties you face while drawing and working on big sheets on big drafting board. The big problem which we face is where to put all those thousnads of instrument which you required all at the same time.

I like your idea of hanging the storage on the wall but still not convince with the idea of hanging it on the drafting table, because i feel though you will make the storage flexible enough to move while working but still it will create problem. AS you work on big sheets you constantly move around the table with your T-scale and other instrument, in such situation if you need to move your storage every time it will create problem.

i would like to suggest you few ideas which i always wanted around my table of working.

First it can hang on the wall or can stand beside the drafting table on the floor.

It should have good storage for n numbers of taps which you required to fix the sheet on the board, it should be such that you don't have to take tap every time in your hand you can just pull the tap and use it.because tap is such thing if it comes in hand you put anywhere after using and you wont get next time when you need to fix the sheet.