Does anybody know? - Thickness of greenhouse plastic

Discussion in 'Gardening Other' started by dooley, Feb 27, 2006.

1. dooley

dooley Super Garden Turtle

Today, we went to find prices on plastic for our lean-to greenhouse. Does anybody know what mil the plastic should be. They have 4 mil and 6 mil. Both seem thick enough. Brian wants to know if it should be 4 mil which lets in more light or 6 mil which is thicker and would protect more from the cold. It gets down into the 20's at night right now, but with March it will gradually warm up. The last average frost date here is May lst. but with our prediction of warmer than normal temperatures it may come earlier. Do we need more sunlight or more warmth. I could put a heater in it if need be. I know that the 20's shouldn't last much longer but what about the 30's. Which should it be, 4 mil or 6 mil. dooley

2. Loading...

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Dooley I'm no expert but the usual is 4ml as far as I know. I think 6ml only really gets used when the greenhouse doesn't get much sun. I hope someone else can help you out better than I can though.

4. Capt Kirk

Capt Kirk Thank a Veteran today!

I would think it would also depend on how much wid you get. The 6 ml would be better if you get much wind.

5. i love bugs

i love bugs The Weatherman of Craggy Island

Light is very important , if they both seem the same I would go for the one that lets in more light . However I agree with the Capt. if wind is a factor get the heavier one . If frost is a problem you can always cover your plants inside the tunnel with garden fleece or old newspapers at night and this will give them double protection 8) Bugs

Advertisement
  6. dooley