Greenhouse Growing

Discussion in 'Greenhouse' started by rOckabLe, May 25, 2010.

1. rOckabLe

rOckabLe New Seed

Okay, Im fairly new to gardening, I always helped my grandmother with her flowers, roses and fruit trees, so other than that, everythings pretty foreign to me. I recieved a green house for Christmas of 09 (just this past christmas), I didnt have a chance to put it up til just recently but its booming with a ridiculous amount of peppers, basils and various herbs waiting to be planted. But im not sure what the "rules" are for green housing. How hot is too hot? Will I need to heat it? What veggies need to be hand pollinated? Which varietys arent suitable in the GH? Tips and suggestions? Is it better to have everything in pots or is digging an in ground veggie bed suggested? Do veggie plants die after the seasons over or will they continue to set fruit as long as they're warm? Will they go dormant and come back in spring? When should I start seeds for the winter months? I live in the high desert of southern california, winter temps lows (nite) are about 20 on average, as low as 10F degrees, My GH is double walled I suppose, Summers can get up to 115F degrees and stay that way for a couple days (Summer "Shade" cloth coming next year hopefully).

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. k-adams3
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. Zigs
      Replies:
      Views:

3. gardentoad

gardentoad Seedling

You will need fans and shade cloth for sure!

I am in central Indiana and my GH gets very hot in summer and on clear days in the middle of winter! I can imagine yours would get much hotter. I keep a shade cloth on mine. The fan is on a temperature sensor to come on automatically and some vents open automatically when it gets hot.
    I grow in pots. Your veggies to keep them going would need large ones or grow in the ground.