Hello from Northern Colorado

Discussion in 'Welcome to GardenStew' started by V for short, Nov 24, 2013.

1. V for short

V for short Seedling

Hi there, I went searching for a gardening forum, and this one seemed to be the friendliest and most active site around. I'm amazed the the incredible number of members from around the world that interact here. So I've joined and wanted to introduce myself.

I'm Vienna, but I've just been V my whole life (V for short). I just finished my Masters degree and bought my first house. One of the attractive things about the house was that someone in the past had put in a garden, and that's something I've always wanted to do. I'll be honest, I'm going to need a LOT of help, but it looks like this is the place to find it.

A little about me... I'm 23. By day I work for an environmental engineering company. By night I'm a personal trainer. I love fitness. I love nutrition. I'm always preaching vegetables vegetables vegetables to my clients. I'm excited now for the opportunity to grow my own. I love spinach, kale, beets, carrots, celery, squash, eggplant, and... you get the idea.

The only thing that is driving me crazy right now is that it's winter time (at least where I live). I'm a notorious overachiever in the family, and I don't like waiting if something can be done now. It's going to be months before I can plant anything. A couple of my neighbors have told me that around here mid-May is about the soonest you can plant IF (notice the big 'if') the Spring is warm. That's half a year away. It looks like the previous owners left the garden in bad shape. The soil doesn't look that healthy (which may be why they left it in such bad shape). So it looks like I have an uphill battle ahead of me. But I'll spend the winter reading and learning and preparing. I'm absolutely excited to be here and learning from some obvious experts.

Thanks all,

V

CariAnn88 likes this.
  2. Loading...

3. cherylad