Help! Badly Overgrown Garden

Discussion in 'Flower Gardening' started by member18348, May 5, 2013.

1. member18348

member18348 New Seed

Hello... I am new to the forums and hope I am posting in the right place. I just started renting a home and it is obvious that the garden areas have been unattended for years. I just started to dive into the first area in front of the home where I would like to put a flower garden featuring wave petunias. I have never seen weeds this big in my life! When I pull them out, I end up pulling for a foot or two. There are a lot of small, new weeds as well. There is ivy in it that I would like to keep, but it is completely intertwined with weeds. I might just be better off getting rid of everything, ivy included, and starting over. I feel like I will be pulling weeds forever and I am concerned they may just pop right back up. I should also add that I am completely new to gardening. I have always had an apartment before. I am very excited about getting into the dirt and putting the hard work in to end up with a beautiful garden. Please help with any tips on how I properly revamp this garden. I am renting, so I don't want to invest loads of money, nor do I have expensive machinery like a rototiller. I have included a photo so you can see what I am working with. Any tips you may provide would be tremendously appreciated by this gardening newbie with an overgrown mess. :stew2:

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. Luna
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. Clay_22
      Replies:
      Views:

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Welcome to GardenStew gardennewb. :-D
    I'm afraid I can't see the photograph you said you had included in your post. :( Could you submit it again for us please? I'm sure there are many of our members who can advise you on what to do with your new garden and how to cope with the weeds.

4. member18348

member18348 New Seed