help me get started?

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by slug, Feb 23, 2006.

1. slug

slug New Seed

hello, brandy new here as you can see. Heck im brand new to gardening but all last summer I was disappointed with the produce in the stores and vowed to try growing some of my own so I would give it a shot.

I am new the the whole scene so any posts or PMs that could help me get my bearings would be appreciated. For example I found this site on google, and other than burpee.com (which I only found because a previous owner got their catalogs) this is the only resource I know of online for gardening.

My location (CT):
    I live in a condo (end unit) that looks like this:
    [​IMG]
    On this side the garage door faces directly West. Another identical building is directly across from it but it is a fairly open other than that. I dont know what the soil is like for growing things under the decks but the weeds certainly seem to thrive in the summer

[​IMG]
    This is the back, it faces due East and as you can see is on a hill. There is no building behind me and the treeline is below the ground level under my deck so the entire side of my building is completely in the sun as of sunrise.

There are a lot of rabbits and birds in the complex (birds especially in the back). I am open to using pots for plants or any other growing mechanism (do people use troughs?) or planting them in the ground under the deck(s) (rear deck has AC unit and dryer exhaust below it though), whatever you reccomend. If it was up to me I would probably like to do it on one of the decks so it is more accessible and probably safer from rabbit types or hungry neighbors :)

I really want to grow tomatos...lots of them...and am also very interested in garlic, eggplant, and maybe some hot green peppers. I would like to throw some herbs (esp basil) in also but I get the feeling they are much lower maintenance.