Hope

Discussion in 'The Village Square' started by Ronni, Dec 15, 2016.

1. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple

Those of you who've been around here for a while know my second oldest son is an addict. He's been in recovery now a couple years...the longest run of sobriety he's had in 15 years. I'm active in my local Nar-Anon group, and also belong to an online Nar-Anon forum and those groups saved my sanity when I was so emotionally sick from my son's addiction.

I posted the following on my Nar-Anon forum, and will be sharing it tonight at my face to face meeting. I wanted to share it here too, because y'all have been so kind and thoughtful to let me talk here about my son and his addiction.

::::::::::::::

A couple Christmases ago, I thought my son was dead. I had been preparing myself to receive news of his death since he disappeared several months prior and hit the streets as a homeless, unemployed, crazed man in full blown, heavy addiction. For years before that, he'd been circling the drain, and as his addiction got worse (and each time I didn't think it could get any worse, but it did) I watched helplessly as he lost job after job, becoming financially destitute and crazy, delusional, hallucinatory. He OD'd several times, had seizures in my home and I had to call 911 to have him transported. He was jailed numerous times, lost the right to see his children, had warrants and probation violations and charges stacking up, and was dodging the cops and his probation officer. He became ill, gaunt and sallow and so skinny his clothes just hung on him. He became someone I no longer knew and barely recognized physically, and didn't like at all. I loved my son but actively and vehemently hated the addict. I had lost hope of ever finding him again, and that's when I turned to Nar-Anon. I'd like to say it was an enlightened decision, but no, it was born out of a hopeless, helpless, desperate apathy.