How to properly store seeds.

Discussion in 'Seed Starting / Propagation' started by farmer ron, Mar 8, 2008.

1. farmer ron

farmer ron New Seed

How to properly store seeds.

I am no expert on the storage of seeds, my only expertise that I can take claim for is that over the years of growing seeds out, I know what has grown out due to the fact of how it was stored. Now you may ask just why I brought up this issue, over the years I have been trading on various websites and have gotton to know many nice fellow gardeners.

What has come to me attention this seed starting season is the poor and or lack of germination rate I have gotten from a lot of seeds I received in return from various seed exchange websites. People talk a lot about seed purity and make a big deal about that, but what is the use of seed purity when you've traded for duds!

I have always sent seed that I have grown out that very same year, or have storaged in my refrigerator and have gotten complements on how great my germination rate is of the seeds I've traded.

Well this years seed starting has been very disappointing, the tomatoes are up but two or three. The main problem is most peppers, flowers, and herb seeds, I have only 10 to 20 percent on the flower seeds germinate, and the herbs are about at the same rate of germination. But the worst is the pepper seed, which I had sowen a messload, and only 10 percent came up. I'm sad to say I traded in good faith with people on the various sites, but in return got old or dead seed. Totally nonviable!

In a week or so I will list on the forum what has not germinated, and will try to find fresh seed this fall, if I can not, I will end up buying seed next season if I can't get viable seed from trades.