I come bearing humility!

Discussion in 'The Village Square' started by Honey-Do, Jan 16, 2022.

1. Honey-Do

Honey-Do New Seed

Hello All:

not sure all the etiquette to this, so just gonna start and hope I’m able to get some good info here. I am a 50 yr old absolute novice when it comes to gardening/yard scaping. I’ve mowed my yard, weeded and raked, but that is about it. After the last couple of years of having every waking moment busy, I’ve decided I want to basically slow things down and get a hobby that keeps me occupied but not exhausted.

my wife and I live in SE Minnesota (guessing that will impact much in what I do with your yard). We live in a nice neighborhood, and the people who lived in this house before us, you can tell they put some work in. However, after our first 2-3 years of putting in almost zero effort, those things are either lost or need a complete overhaul. I want to have a nice looking lawn and yard that my wife will smile at when coming home or sitting on the porch.

we have two dogs that like to dig a bit (not too much), and well, their using our yard as a restroom has made the yard “splotchy” at best in spots. My main reason for joining is to hopefully get some good ideas and quite frankly, for some support as nobody I know knows gardens , or if they do, they don’t have the patience to talk to me in simple-enough terms.

anyway- Hi, and hope this is what I’m looking for. Ball advice is greatly appreciated, so thank you in advance. I am hoping to get a lot of info over the next couple of months so that come springtime, I can hit the yard kneeling (haha), and make our yard something to be proud of

2. Tetters

Tetters Young Pine