Ideas for my kitchen

Discussion in 'Interior Design' started by Kfinn, Sep 2, 2006.

1. Kfinn

Kfinn New Seed

Hi

I have a very dull kitchen and would like to bring it up to date. I am a student and we are two people sharing the kitchen. It has three doors and is therefore quite difficult to decorate I think.

I want to paint the walls white, add some sort of tiels under the cabinet area, add some types of furniture (including chairs, table and some more kitchen working space)

I need help to find cheap (preferably IKEA) furniture, that will fit in the kitchen and ensure that the kitchen serves as a kitchen. It would be cool to have some sort of "bar table" as a breakfast table, but I have no clue where to put it.

I have taken some pictures and made a Google Sketch model here:
    http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/ ... aae7a0460a

Feel free to give me any ideas and even add them to the Google sketch (if you are up to it)

-Kristian

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. sunflower
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. Platinum23
      Replies:
      Views:

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Hello Kfinn nice to see a student join us here at the Stew. WELCOME :D What are you studying?

If I had to re-do your kitchen then, I'm sorry, but I wouldn't use white to paint the walls. I find it much too stark - how about buttermilk or good old magnolia or even one of those 'hints of colour' paints you can get? Tiles are always a good idea for behind cookers and sinks as they are easily cleaned of splashes. Maybe multi coloured tiles to brighten everything up and you could get a matching table cloth that way too. All the units look pretty modern so I wouldn't spend a lot of money changing them as you'll be able to pick up reasonably prices IKEA furniture which will match with them I'm sure.