Iris's CAN'T do that!

Discussion in 'Flower Gardening' started by Tooty2shoes, Jul 2, 2013.

1. Tooty2shoes

Tooty2shoes Hardy Maple

Well do not tell my Iris's that they can't change color all on their own. I have been documenting a dwarf dark lavender Iris since 2006 that has been changing to a light creamy beige yellow.
    I had even contacted Schreiner's Iris's to see what they would have to say as to why it is doing the color change. They said that Iris's do not do that.
    Well don't tell this one it isn't possible. The blossoms start out as bi-colored as you can see from the first pic. Then the following year they turn the creamy color.
    One master gardener I talked to said that maybe they where reverting back to their original stock color. I have no clue. But I sure am enjoying watching the neat color show. I just wish they would stay bi-colored.

[​IMG]
    Bi-colored Iris 2013. ( photo / image / picture from Tooty2shoes's Garden )

[​IMG]
    Color transformation complete.2013 ( photo / image / picture from Tooty2shoes's Garden )
    This year I had five blossoms the light color and just the one Bi-colored. Next year should be interesting to see what happens. :stew1:

2. Loading...

3. donna in nc

donna in nc In Flower

beautiful just beautiful mother nature knows what she is doing

4. Tina

Tina Young Pine

WOW!! Spectacular!!

5. stratsmom

stratsmom Flower Fanatic

What a winning combination!!! :p

Advertisement
  6. Tooty2shoes

Tooty2shoes Hardy Maple

Thanks everyone. Yes that mother nature sure has some surprises up her sleeve. :stew1:

7. Cayuga Morning

Cayuga Morning Strong Ash Plants Contributor

Wow Tooty! Very unusual! Thanks so much for showing this to us.
    I just googled "Iris changing color" and you are right, all the "experts" say this cannot happen! Only one source suggested two possibilities: do you know if your iris could have set seed? Maybe the baby iris do not breed true to color.