Is there a mushroomer here to name this yellow mushroom?

Discussion in 'Plant ID' started by Freckles, Nov 3, 2011.

1. Freckles

Freckles Seedling

It is here in Florida. Three just popped up after two days of heavy rain. I have never seen them here before. Pale yellow with a greenish cast. Has gills. About 3" tall.

[​IMG]

Thank you.

2. Loading...

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

I'm no expert but it looks similar to the Common Puffballs we get here. However I hope someone else, with more knowledge, can ID it properly for you.

4. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

I looked through my mushroom book and could find nothing similar to this one. the ring on the stem doesn't match up with anything in the book. Sorry. but I'll keep looking.

I checked another book and maybe it is an Amanita . "In the button stage they can be mistaken for the puffball". With the ring on the stem, I would be not leaning towards a puffball. Do Not eat this mushroom. most of the pictures of Amanitas have a skull and crossbones picture. The closest I think it looks like is the amanita muscaria. var. formosa

5. Freckles

Freckles Seedling

Thank you both. I did check out your suggestion Carolyn, but it didn't seem to be exactly that mushroom. There are so many variables when it comes to identifying mushrooms. Here is another view of the inside.
    And I'm not sure of any mushroom as to edibleness, so I just admire them.

[​IMG]

Advertisement
  6. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

I agree with the thought of not knowing enough about them to eat them, there are some that are so similar you could kill yourself accidentally. :eek: oops. Not so good for you or your family. I see quite a few different ones around, but I still have no desire to "try" them, not even the puffball.