Money & time saving ideas

Discussion in 'Home Improvement, DIY and Repair' started by looking, May 13, 2005.

1. looking

looking Seedling

Hi all,
    I thought I'd start a topic about money & time saving ideas around the home and garden. There are lots of ways to save, which really add up over the long term.
    So, let's hear your ideas to save money so we can spend more in GardenStews "Home & Garden Store" ;)

I'll start.

As an electrician I am often asked by people how to cut down on power costs. One simple, but effective way, is to decrease the temperature in your hot water service (HWS) (works for both electric & gas).
    I have found that most people (around 80%) have their HWS way too hot. Then, when they turn on the hot water tap for a bath or to do the dishes, they have to cool it down with cold water.
    Most households don't need it hotter than 60C, but have it up around 70C, which wastes money heating and then having to cool the water.
    With power costs the way they are, a saving of $100-150 per year is common.

Cheers
    Craig

2. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Great suggestion Craig!! Anything that helps to save money on fuel bills gets my vote.
    I'm off for the week-end to Cheshire but will try to post something towards this topic when I get back.

3. mbwest

mbwest Seedling

Hey, i think this is a great topic, i'll keep thinking and if i have any suggestion i'll get them straight on here.

I did see a program a while back about someone who was employed to cut bills, e.g you would pay him 20% of what ever he could cut in a year or something like that and he said the average home could cut about £2000 a year.
    He said the biggest money saver is just taking a look at all your bills and finding out if there are any other suppliers that can do it cheaper. I mean that really couldn't take much more that a few hours to send off the letters or make the phone calls.