Need a little help with decisions regarding compost and/or vs. Leaf mold piles

Discussion in 'Gardening Other' started by Melody Mc., Sep 16, 2022.

1. Melody Mc.

Melody Mc. Young Pine

I am relatively new to composting. The volume we have is not conducive to a bin of any sorts, but to a large pile.

A few challenges I have is that the pile will be frozen most likely by mid October, and may not be accessable from November to April, and/or thaw until April to May ( depending on snow volume and weather). The piles need to live where they are and can't be relocated.

Some questions I'm struggling with, is when to stop adding organic matter to the pile that I wish to use in the spring? Which leads to when do I start a new pile? Do some people still have lumps and chunks of plants etc when they use their compost in the spring, or should it all be completely broken down?

Which leaves me to leaves. ;)....I only learned of leaf mold this year so I am brand new to it. We have a tremendous amount of deciduos trees along the borders of our accessible property. My hope, if mother nature allows it, is to use the grass collector behind the lawn tractor and try to scoop up as many as often as I can before they freeze to the ground. I plan to mow them a couple of times and collect the bits. Most often they are accessed in the spring when the snow melts, and have already dried a fair amount. I realize they won't be as valuable, so those ones will probably go into the compost??

I'm thinking newly gathered leaves should perhaps be a seperate pile?? But I'm not sure. And I'm not sure if I should put it on plastic and bundle it up with another sheet of black plastic for the long winter? Or do I let the snow get at it and melt into it? It will remain frozen for quite a while if I don't cover it. But it also will not get the moisture.