Need advise for starting a vegetable garden

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by stevenielsen, Sep 18, 2013.

1. stevenielsen

stevenielsen New Seed

I want to make vegetable gardening a hobby but I don't know where to start. I am a beginner gardener. What should I consider first? Basically, I have a small space at the backyard with good exposure to sunlight. This is about 400 - 500 square feet I think.

2. Loading...

3. cherylad

cherylad Countess of Cute-ification Plants Contributor

I'd start by getting rid of the grass/weeds. Amend your soil if it's needed... by adding compost or fertilizer.
    Or you could go the raised bed approach. Build some "boxes" and fill with soil.
    Then think of what foods you want to grow and how many people you want to feed.
    Not sure where you live, but check with your local nurseries for varieties that are recommended for your area/weather conditions, etc.

4. marlingardener

marlingardener Happy

Good advice from Cheryl! Also, make sure of what amendments you need before you jump in. If you plan an in-ground garden, have the soil tested. If you have a County Agricultural Agent, he/she can help you get the test done. If not, try the university closest to you. Raised beds you can control the soil mix, but you'll have to add soil and compost yearly.
    Decide what vegetables you want to plant, and read up on them. Corn takes a lot of space for a relatively small yield; green beans can be succession planted (a new row or half-row every two weeks) to have a steady supply; tomatoes and peppers can be grown in 5 gal. containers to save garden space; squash comes in both bush and vining types, with bush being better for the small garden; and lettuces, especially the leaf types, are easily grown.
    Please tell us where you are, since some areas can have two gardens a year, and colder ones only one. Also, the types of vegetables vary as to region. I've heard okra doesn't do all that well in Maine!

5. mart