question about buying bareroot perennials from catalog

Discussion in 'Flower Gardening' started by daisybeans, Jul 30, 2009.

1. daisybeans

daisybeans Hardy Maple

Hi GardenStew friends.

I saw an offer from a catalog (SpringHill) for a collection of 6 varieties of Tall Phlox.

But it says they are shipped as bareroot divisions and I have never worked with bareroot plants before... What do they need to thrive? Would they bloom next year, do you think?

Do you buy bareroot plants? From a catalog? Is this a good way to acquire plants?

Thanks, guys. Appreciate your feedback.

Daisybeans

2. Loading...

Similar Threads
    1. Lillium_Lover
      Replies:
      Views:
    2. AAnightowl
      Replies:
      Views:

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

I've bought bareroot plants from catalogues Daisy and they have (mostly) been fine. Just remember to soak the roots overnight before planting them up. Water them well once they are in the ground and wait. It can take a few weeks sometimes before the plants show signs of life so be patient with them. :-D

4. daisybeans

daisybeans Hardy Maple

Thanks Eileen!

We're in the hottest part of the summer... Would it be better to wait until September to plant them?

And... if I were to buy them now, can I hold them until it's cooler to plant them or do I have to plant them right away?

5. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Daisybeans, if you order from Springhill now they won't ship until fall as they don't ship during the heat of July and August. This is the Shipping Schedule on their website.....
    Fall Shipping Schedule
    Zone Ship Dates
    4 and North-- Aug 31 - Nov 7
    5A-- Aug 31 - Nov 7
    5B-- Sep 6 - Nov 7
    6-- Sep 14 - Nov 7
    7-- Sep 21 - Nov 7
    8-- Sep 28 - Nov 7
    9 and South -- Oct 6 - Nov 7
    Last Order Date Nov 3