Rootbound? How do I repot a devils ivy/golden pothos?

Discussion in 'Houseplants' started by sheryy77, Sep 1, 2014.

1. sheryy77

sheryy77 New Seed

Hello!

I'm new to this forum and a total novice at plants.

My ivy is not variegated so I guess I'm not sure if it's a golden pothos but the leaves are identical in shape. They are just solid green.

I have a vase of water that I have slips in that, while potted, got long and lost lower leaves so I snipped them off. I noticed that one had attached itself to the counter top and wall with a 'pre-root'?. Also some that were in the pot (with soil) next to it had done the same as well as rooted one shoot into a second pot sitting next to that one! My plant is taking over the house! I decided they were asking to be potted so I started the process and then realized that I had no idea what I was doing.

I gently pulled the potted ivy from the upside down pot to find that it was just one massive ball of roots. Does this kind of plant get root bound? I've heard that some plants don't mind this but I have no idea about this one. There's no way I could have added these rooted slips to this massive ball. I put the project on hold while I post this and run to the store real quick. I filled a bucket with water and put the roots into the water so they don't dry out and to maybe loosen the mass. I'm not sure if this was the right thing to do but I'm shooting in the dark here.

Hopefully I'll have some expedient answers before I've done too much damage.

Thanks so much for your help!

Shery

2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Welcome to GardenStew.

Solid green leaves on a pothos can mean it isn't getting enough sun, but otherwise the plant is fine. Loosing leaves and becoming long and thin is also a sign of not enough sun.
    But I have one variegated and one solid and they are both on the same shelf in front of the same window so yours might just not be a variegated one.