Sharing With You My Making A Bonsai

Discussion in 'Houseplants' started by waretrop, Feb 20, 2016.

1. waretrop

waretrop Strong Ash Plants Contributor

I have been keeping this Crown of Thorns in this pot for 20 years now. Keeping it nipped back every time a new or larger leaf began, I haven't had a normal size leaf develop for many years now. It hasn't bloomed in a long time because I had been nipping any new growth back. Now every leaf that appears has been very small. I want to see if it will bloom soon to see if the flowers stay the normal size. That's what happens when something becomes a bonsai. I also take the square pot out and nip any roots that want to come out of the holes in the pot.

The only thing I will do with this is to trim all the branches back nicely as I have just chopped until now. Then I will let all the new shoots grow out to see what develops.

I have normal size Crown of Thorns, large flowering Crown of Thorns and I have also acquired a dwarf Crown of Thorns which has small flowers. I also have many color of flowers. So I am hoping this one keeps small leaves but has normal red flowers.

This plant is 6 inches tall. The plant is actually in the square pink pot. I just have it in the larger pot to keep it upright and a little more moist.

crownofthorns3.jpg

crownofthorn43.jpg

crownofthorn4.jpg

crownofthorn5.jpg

purpleinopp likes this.
  2. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

I hope you can get it to flower for you Barb. I used to have bonsais but the flowers they produced were always small. Any fruit that they grew, however, was normal sized. :headscratch:

3. waretrop

What kind of plant produced small flowers and normal size fruit??? I never heard of that...

4. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

interesting. I have never tried any bonsai... I would probably kill during the Summer when I get busy and forget about it... oops!

Advertisement
  5. waretrop