What to feed Caterpillers

Discussion in 'Gardening Other' started by Gizmo, Jun 5, 2006.

1. Gizmo

Gizmo Animal Magnet

Hello all, I'm a newbie at this so Here it goes. I live In Fl and love to be in the garden when the sun is not so hot lol. Recently I have adopted some caterpillers from the next door people because they had no leafs on the bush that they were trying to live on. Now I need some help keeping them alive. Theres no other bushes like that in the comunity. I gave them some lettuce from the store, and it is not working, can I put them on my rose bush? If not where can I? And we have frogs that eat them at night so that is also a problem! The caterpillers are saying " LET ME OUT OF THIS JAR!!!" :shrug:

2. Loading...

3. glendann

glendann Official Garden Angel

Gizmo the worms probably are not friendly if they stripped the bush next door .Just be thankful you don't have a bush like that .
    I have Catalpa trees at my moms old place and those Catalpa worms take all the leaves and then there is no shade
    fishermen love these worms but they are pests to me.It will probably make cacoons soon and make a butterfly of sorts .I wouldn't worry about them much as they will make it own their on.

4. glendann

Oh Gizmo was so instered in the worms I forgot to welcome you to Garden Stew glad to have you .We have lots of fun here.

5. Gizmo

Gizmo Animal Magnet

Thanks Glendann, but i still have 1 question, if i leave them in the jar with the lettuce from the store, will they die? And if that is not what to feed them then what is?

Th@nK Y0U
    G!Zm0 :D

Advertisement
  6. Pinkiered

Pinkiered The Rose Queen

They will die if the bush you picked them off of is what they eat. I think its toni that was advising me on caterpillars and what plants they live on (not that I was interested! HAHA! jk)

What type of bush was it on? Do you know? Can you take a pic and post it? Maybe someone can tell what else they will eat.

Good luck on that and WELCOME!

7. glendann