Winter Sowing

Discussion in 'Gardening Other' started by AAnightowl, Dec 29, 2012.

1. AAnightowl

AAnightowl Young Pine

Do any of you get a jump start on spring by winter sowing your seeds? Here is a website to get you going and at your gardens early:

http://www.wintersown.org/

It shows some ways to make mini green houses and what seeds work best for winter sowing. Mother nature does it all the time. I am still learning, but plastic ice cream buckets are a good container to use. I have my portable green house to put some plants in trays and what not in also... I had better luck last year, it was my 2d year trying it.

Be sure that whatever containers you use, they can drain excess water freely so your seeds and seedlings do not drown!

2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

This subject comes up about this time every year but we usually don't hear about results. Sounds like you have had better luck than others here except for a long ago member named Biita who lived in the far northern region of Norway above the Arctic Circle. I know some have mentioned doing it but I don't know if they were successful. Be sure to take progress photos of your winter sowing this year.

I thought about trying it, saved bunches of plastic containers then I realized that you have to actually have winter and it should last more than 2-3 days for it to work. :rolleyes: I don't do any of the container growing anymore, I just stick seeds in the ground of the plants I know will overwinter and return in the Spring like Zinnia, Cosmos, etc. This year I have some Milkweed in the ground hoping they will make it and come up next Spring.

4. koszta kid

koszta kid Young Pine

I have winter sowed for many years.Cheap way to get some nice plants.Use to trade plants and seeds on GW . And went to swaps.I have good luck with WS-some better then others.But stubborn and read more.Some of the seeds planted too deep.

5. AAnightowl