Would I Need To Re-Install Internet ?

Discussion in 'Computer and Internet' started by azw1879, Jun 18, 2006.

1. azw1879

azw1879 Seedling

I'm considering getting a more up-to-date computer at some stage, more memory, etc., allowing me to play some of the games I've collected, not suitable for this computer. Maybe, eventually a Flight Simulator - helicopter, plane, etc.

However, I wondered if you can just connect a new computer straight away to the internet, without re-installing, basically just replacing the old computer with the new, or do you have to go through the same procedure connecting the internet as with the old computer ? :shrug:

C.J. :-?

2. Loading...

3. Primsong

Primsong Young Pine

As far as I know (and I'm no computer expert) you just need to have a modem of some kind and a browser on your computer (such as Netscape, Internet Explorer, Mozilla, Firefox, etc.) - this is the tool that allows you to use the internet connection you get through the modem.

4. Frank

Frank GardenStew Founder Staff Member Administrator

I think a lot depends whether you are on dial-up or broadband C.J. I'm no expert but for dial-up you will have to re-install your connection but for broadband it should be a matter of just hooking up. But as I said i'm no expert, I've always hated networking :|

5. Pianolady

Pianolady In Flower

If you are on dial-up, you will need to know the phone number you dial, username, and your password. Just username and password for cable.

Your internet company probably provided you with a program that helped you with this, but you don't have to use it. Using XP (and many other operating systems), you can configure your connection using the wizard found in Start, All Programs, Accessories, Communications.

Advertisement
  6. azw1879

azw1879 Seedling

Thanks. It is Broadband I'm connected to, but hopefully someone 'wise in the knowledge' will be available nearby to keep me right.