A flowing river of dry sand and pebbles, no water.

Discussion in 'The Village Square' started by S-H, Nov 22, 2015.

1. S-H

S-H Hardy Maple

Isn't it amazing what we can see today, when almost everyone is empowered with a cellphone camera, plus an internet connection, (enabling them to share what otherwise only they alone would have witnessed)! :D

This footage is from Iraq, (but I'm not sure of which area)...

2ofus and leafylady like this.
  2. Loading...

3. leafylady

leafylady New Seed

Why is it doing that?

4. S-H

S-H Hardy Maple

I think it can be explained by the branch of physics known as fluid dynamics. But since I often slept through those classes when I was a student, I can't give any detailed answers for it now... :cool: However, the basic explanation is that if enough energy is applied to a bunch of small objects (which when combined add up to a huge mass) - Than they can under some conditions start to behave exactly like a fluid would. So if this theory holds true, then I guess we would see similar sights on the surface of the Moon too, where there is no air, or water in liquid form...

I think this is also how landslides occur, as what we assume to be solid side of a hill, (which actually is just tiny pebbles and rock held together by other pebbles and rock, compacting on each other by the downward force of gravity) - So when a new force is applied from another direction, like perpendicular to the normal force of gravity, (which can be caused by an Earthquake). Then I guess that is how we get landslides, when what we otherwise think of as a solid mass, starts to run down as if it was a liquid.

Avalanches too I guess would follow the same principle. As only one external force is needed to shake loose the tightly held together bunch of small objects, after which (once the flow gets going) everything starts to behave like a fluid, even when there is actually no liquid water content in it!

2ofus and leafylady like this.
  5. toni