does soil types changes how well plants grow?

Discussion in 'Gardening Other' started by angelsweettweetylover, Jan 7, 2008.

1. angelsweettweetylover

angelsweettweetylover New Seed

Hello my name is Silvia and I'm 13yrs turning 14. This is my first time on GardenStew, so please kinda help me get around on this site... Also in school this is my first year in Honor Earth Science although im not sure why... Anyway, my class has a Science Fair Progect, and i chosen to see if soil types changes how well plants grow. I have a research paper that is due thursday and all i have is my title... i really dont know much about plants so can someone please help me... I really nees to pass this or i would fail this class... well i think from the way she grades... I'm doing a APA format.
    Please and Thank You :stew2: :D :-o

2. Loading...

3. bsewnsew

bsewnsew Hardy Maple

soil types...........

Yes .....
    Soil types do effect how a plant grows......
    For instance,some plants like sandy soil, some like humus soil, some like well drained soil.......

Why not type in GOOGLE search......How different soils effects plant growth..
    Bet it will give you great ideas.

barb

4. Sjoerd

Sjoerd Mighty Oak

5. angelsweettweetylover

thank you..i will go check out the site and search on google

Advertisement
  6. CritterPainter

CritterPainter Awed by Nature

And get yourself a ph test kit from the garden center- you can get them pretty cheap. The ph is critical- for example, where I am in Washington, the soil is almost universally somewhat acid due to the abundance of evergreens- rhododendrons and many other acid lovers flourish here. In areas with more alkiline soil a completely different sort of native plant does well.
    In clay-rich soil you will find plants that love to have their "feet" wet- those plants wither in sandy soil. And the stuff that gardeners dream about is a sandy loam with lots of organic matter broken down in it.