growing tomato indoors - please help this newbie out!

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by kubrasera, Jun 22, 2013.

1. kubrasera

kubrasera New Seed

Hi everyone!

Seeing a green market in the city, I got the urge to start my own indoor herb gardening. Then, however, I started with my favorite fruit - tomato! I am very new at this though so I have a few questions.

After having done my research on under which circumstances it will grow best, I put it in a window that is facing south. I read that that is the best for them. However, I also read that they are supposed to get 8 hours of direct sunlight every day. I am afraid my window only gets about 4-5 hours of direct sunlight. How much of a problem is this?

I also read that morning sun is better than the afternoon sun. In the window facing south, my plant gets afternoon sun (pretty much from 11 to 3-4). I could put it in a window that is facing east which gets about the same amount of hours of light, but it is morning sun.

Also, I am not sure if I have good drainage. In fact, I think it is pretty bad. No water has drained from it yet (I got it about 4 days ago). It is planted in a clay pot. The day that I planted it and gave water to it, the clay pot itself got all wet as in it absorb the water from the soil. Is that normal? I wrapped it around with plastic so that no more water gets out. Am I doing the right thing? Should I change the pot? I read that it depends on the plant. For tomatoes, clay pot is good or bad?

2. Loading...

3. mart

mart Strong Ash

Excellent that you are attempting to grow them indoors. But it will be very difficult if you manage it at all. Tomatoes need at least 5 gallon pots with soil because they have extensive root systems. Assuming that you are growing the hybrid variety that is sold at most garden stores. And on top of that they can get 6 ft tall so you need some support for them. Do you know what variety you bought ?