I need suggestions for drying Dill, Cilantro and Parsley

Discussion in 'Herb Gardening' started by denise123177, Jul 14, 2009.

1. denise123177

denise123177 New Seed

I have dill, cilantro and parsley in my garden. Is there a special way to dry them? There's so much, I'd like to save some for the months to come, but it's my first time growing any and I'm not sure how to do it :p

moderator's note: added a more descriptive title to topic
    moderator's note: moved topic to more appropriate forum

2. Loading...

3. Jewell

Jewell Incorrigible Gardener Plants Contributor

Puget Sound Region of the Pacific NW,Zone7b
    I dry all my herbs and seeds in the big brown grocery paper bags. They do a good job for me with air circulation and no light (although I do leave them open). I just drop the stems in, don't pack them...leave loose) and wait until the leaves/seeds are totally dry (sometimes I will leave them in the bags for a couple of months until I have time to finish the job up - depending on the weather it will take several weeks to dry). I will check them and toss if the weather gets rainy (humidity). After they are completely dry I strip the leaves or seeds and package them up in ziploc bags or glass jars.:stew1:

I have oregano, and thyme from last year that still has a wonder fragrance and color. I don't crush the leaves until we are ready to use it. My husband likes to drop a handful in the blender and give it a quick whirl before putting them in the sauce. I'm thinking I will dry herbs this summer for Christmas presents. I letting my oregano go to blooms so that they can add a decorative touch when bottled.

4. ntjones

ntjones New Seed

I find it better to chop all my soft herbs up and then put the in the freezer, and just take out a handful when ever you need them.
    But I do dry alot of my woody herbs like Thyme or rosemary

5. weeds n seeds

weeds n seeds Seedling