Is there any hope for my phalaenopsis?

Discussion in 'Flower Gardening' started by SadSunday, Dec 18, 2016.

1. SadSunday

SadSunday Seedling

Hi. I received a phalaenopsis as a present (I had no previous experience with it before, it was probably bought in a shop - these plants are quite popular as presents in my country right now). But in few weeks all it's blooms and leafs fell down, and the whole plant just dried out. I cut the stem at it's forking, but it seems to be not helping - the plant is in a very bad shape. I am enclosing a picture, maybe it's dead for good or it is a way to revive a plant?

Thank you.

http://i.imgur.com/nO417ma.jpg

2. Loading...

3. Ronni

Ronni Hardy Maple

I am not an orchid expert by any means, but I have several that I've nurtured for years. Honestly, yours just looks dead. There's no green anywhere. There should be visible, thick green roots and some green on the stem that's left, and I'm not seeing anything but dry, dead stuff.

There are others more knowledgeable than I here, and perhaps they will have a different opinion.

4. SadSunday

SadSunday Seedling

Thank you, Ronni. I guess it's obvious that the plant is dead, just didn't want to toss it away if there was any hope to revive it somehow.

5. Islandlife

Islandlife Young Pine

I'm with Ronni. I have two both store bought locally in grocery stores. The oldest one bloomed for a long time and when the blooms faded I cut the flower stalk back. This prompted 1 more leaf to grow giving it 5 thick green waxy leaves. No signs of another flower stalk (but I live in hope.)

It is planted in a double pot in that the flower part is planted in a clear plastic pot with big slits on the bottom (so it won't sit in water) and then this is held in a decorative outer pot.

About once a month I absolutely soak this orchid 'til all the roots are totally wet. I sit it in the sink to drain and the plop it back into the decorative pot.