my vegetable jungle

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by 102christa, Dec 7, 2015.

1. 102christa

102christa Seedling

I'm very new to gardening and this year I've had the idea to start a vegetable patch. Petrus, who comes to help me out once a week, was all for it and decided he wanted to be the one doing the planting. Since neither one of us really knew what we were doing we are left with a bit of a vegetable jungle at the moment!! Butternut vines.... as far as the eye can see..... Here and there a brave tomato or grean bean is standing it's ground, and the watermelon and sweet melon is only just starting! They've all been planted way to close together but now I feel to sorry to remove them as they're all growing so beautifully and it's flowers everywhere... But I do know they won't have enough space.

Once the jungle thins out by the end of the season is there any advice for next year? I'm thinking of marking 90 cm square blocks with rope or something and then we stick with one seed per block. It's a lot of fun seeing them grow with such abundance but I think next year we should use a bit more planning :oops:;):)

2. Loading...

3. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash