Newbie Intern needing help

Discussion in 'Flower Gardening' started by Mirka, Jun 15, 2015.

1. Mirka

Mirka New Seed

Hello Community!

I am an intern for Rincon Family Services which is a not-for-profit in Chicago "dedicated to rendering compassionate and effective programs that promote the quality of life by serving as a catalyst to advocate, educate and empower individuals and their families. Our programs and services include areas of drug rehabilitation, HIV prevention, mental health treatment, and mandated court services".

As their summer intern, I've been assigned a project to beautify our facility before our annual gala in August. I picked an event date for June 26th, but have few volunteers and no plants. Must I add that I also have no knowledge for gardening! Before I started doing loads of research, I thought I could reach out to you guys for some pointers and direction.

So, I have to plant a curb side which is 2ft width and about 20 feet long in front of our facility, need to plant so that they are pretty and beautiful by August. The dirt is somewhat in good shape especially since its been raining but I know it needs more nutrients. CHICAGO GETS COLD and my boss specifically requested plants that do not have to be replanted. (someone in the office mentioned perennials)And we are a non for profit so very very very limited funds.

I need knowledge! I need plants! I need volunteers! Please help me!

Thanks,
    Mirka
    RFS Intern

Attached Files:

2. Loading...

3. marlingardener

marlingardener Happy

Mirka, I'd bet there is a Master Gardener group near you. They can provide advice, some plants (I hope), and support. Get hold of them through your county extension agent if you have one, and if not, an article in a local newspaper will get you some response.
    Considering that the bed is so narrow, and backed by a cement wall, ground cover is about your only option. There simply isn't enough room to support larger plants.