Problem with my bean plants

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by Mrs. Galeassi, May 29, 2013.

1. Mrs. Galeassi

Mrs. Galeassi In Flower

I have a question its about my wax and green bean plants. Every once in a while I find one of my plants bent over like it needs to be staked, but upon further inspection I see that the stem is almost broken and the inside is hollow. What can cause the main stem to go hollow? And then I notice the bean on it wouldn't be any good either anymore. What happend? Also some of my wax beans have had purple streaks on the yellow bean. Is this normal? Its my first year growing wax beans. And last year I didn't fair all that great with green beans. Thought this year id do better and not same mistakes as last year, seems I'm not, just making new ones I guess :( Ok so maybe they aren't all doing bad and I'm a bit of a drama queen. But I find about 1 a week I have to chuck! And id like to know what I'm doing wrong. :(

[​IMG]
    my stem went hollow and plant colapsed ( photo / image / picture from Mrs. Galeassi's Garden )

[​IMG]
    wax bean not looking so good. ( photo / image / picture from Mrs. Galeassi's Garden )

[​IMG]
    ( photo / image / picture from Mrs. Galeassi's Garden )

2. Loading...

3. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

I have never grown beans in a container. this may be part of the problem...not enough rootmass to support the plant. You could have some insect damaging the plants stem causing the damage or it could be a fungus attacking the plant.

4. marlingardener

marlingardener Happy

Check the bottom of your pots. If you see roots showing, it is as Carolyn said--not enough root space to grow properly.
    If that isn't it, cut open one of the hollow stems and see if there is a "bug" in it. If we are all still bumfuzzled, you might try spraying with Neem oil which is a fungicide and a pesticide. Read the label well before purchase to see if Neem might be useful to you.

5. Mrs. Galeassi

Mrs. Galeassi In Flower