Swede in need. Designing a garden in a cold region

Discussion in 'Garden Design' started by coolcarib, Jun 11, 2009.

1. coolcarib

coolcarib New Seed

Just moved into a new house, and a new country.
    if you had a blank canvas to work with where would you start in zone 5-6. i am thinking of a rock pond in the foreground, a barbeque area where that rock stands, a children's play area to the right with swings,some fruit trees and perinials around and some sort of paved area.all suggestions are welcome. p.s. i am not completely lost, i have a diploma in landscaping , just never took on a project this size in so cold a region.

[​IMG]
    ( photo / image / picture from coolcarib's Garden )

2. Loading...

3. Droopy

Droopy Slug Slaughterer Plants Contributor

Congratulations on your new house, your new country and the blank slate. :D The first thing I'd do is to draw up a general plan, then start with what's most urgent (guess the children's play area) and work my way from there.

I'd then take a walk around my neighbourhood to see what's growing in other people's gardens, and then I'd go and bend the ears of the people in the nearest nurseries.

Good luck with your big, exciting projects.

4. bsewnsew

bsewnsew Hardy Maple

Good grief a diploma........

Congrats in the home ..I am 56 and if your in the market of hardy plants and trees , check the online catalogs for your area 5/6.. I try anything..

5. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Oh my hands are itching to start laying out your new garden with you - if only I could. Droopy has given you some sound advice to get you started. I would love it if you could show us progress reports on the work you do in your outdoor space.

Congratulation on your new home, new garden and new country!! :D

Advertisement
  6. Guido

Guido New Seed

Congratulations! Wouldn't you consider pine trees? I think they look great in the snow, always strikes me during my skiing vacation.