What is the best general fertilizer / fertiliser?

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by Coopes, Mar 26, 2009.

1. Coopes

Coopes New Seed

Hi all as you know I'm new to this gardening lark, could someone suggest or advise me on a good general fertiliser.

Cheers

Coopes

2. Loading...

3. EJ

EJ Allotmenteer Extraordinaire

For the allotment Coopes, if you don't have any good rotted manure or home made compost yet, then pelleted chicken manure is a good all round feed. You can get it in B&Q and the likes, it isn't terribly expensive and as it is pelleted, it is easy and clean to use. I have 2 compost heaps on the plots, one being filled, one being emptied. I also have access to stable manure which I pile high on the heaps, and I use at the bottom of my runner bean trench, I also plant my various squash plants on little hillocks of fresh, warm manure and they love it! For the first time in the 10+ years of running allotments, last autumn I sowed a green manure, Mustard, on the advice of Sjoerd, our Dutch allotment guru, and I have just finished digging it in. If you check out seed companies like Thompson and Morgan, you can buy large bags of green manure to use at different times and different seeds depending on your soil. I am on heavy London clay so need to get in as much organic matter as possibly to break up the orange smelly clay, so I also make my own leaf mould by gathering up all the leaves I can in the autumn and piling them up in a wire mesh cage. It takes about 18 monthes to break down, I don't mind it being a bit chunky still, and although the nutrient value isn't high, it is a great soil conditioner, and to be honest, every little helps.

4. kaseylib

kaseylib Young Pine