Another Lavender Question!

Discussion in 'Flower Gardening' started by miss.gypsea, Jun 3, 2019.

1. miss.gypsea

miss.gypsea New Seed

Hello All,

To give you a little background - I have been housesitting in Central Mexico for 4 weeks where temps have been very hot, full sun, drought conditions. The weather has changed in the past 5 days, hurray!

This lavender plant has pretty much looked this way since I arrived, and as you can see, part of the plant has previously been cut away, but I'm curious what you would say the problem is? I might suspect over-watering being that the gardener comes once/week and the homeowner advised me to also water the entire garden once/week. The plant hasn't changed much since I arrived but I definitely don't want to kill it while it's under my care!

As a COMPLETE novice gardener, I would think the very dry ground here could soak up a few over-waterings, no? However, I really don't know how deep this soil goes. But perhaps with two waterings a week happening for a long time the plant has had enough? Or is it underwatered?!

As you can see some of the flowers are dying, but there is still new growth happening. I really don't know much about plant life cycles, but I'm in the midst of a crash course here!

What would be your suggestion here? A lot of the outer part of the plant looks very healthy, but the inside does not. Should I be concerned?!

Apparently, my image files from my phone are too big to upload so below are 2 links to google images which are public. Feedback is appreciated - thanks!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hxKdK86xyir17E9GyqDP3vv7tGlPtiC-/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/16DFCS1VkFtRW8mYn_kf_yScC5uml2U3T/view?usp=sharing

2. Loading...

3. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor