attracting hummingbirds

Discussion in 'Wildlife in the Garden' started by Trackerway, Aug 5, 2008.

1. Trackerway

Trackerway New Seed

I bought a hummingbird feeder for my yard, mixed up the nectar according to the directions, and hung the feeder up. Not a single hummingbird has ever come. The nectar ended up evaporating from the feeder. I saw hummingbirds at my neighbor's feeder...what could I possibly have done wrong? Thanks.

2. Loading...

3. travelingbooklover

travelingbooklover In Flower

Hi,
    I am not an expert on hummingbirds but here is what I have learned. It seemed to take a bit of time to attract them to my yard but once I planted butterfly bushes near them, they found my feeders. (Not sure if the plants helped- the flowers were pink, white and lavender. It took about a month for them to find me.) Also, if the nectar is "old", they won't drink. In hot weather, you really need to stay on top of cleaning it. (No soap!) If the weather is less than 80 degrees, discard the old food and rinse the feeder once a week. 80-90 degrees, every four days. Over 90 degrees, you may have to change it every other day. Hope that helps. If you have any more questions, send me a message and I will try to help. Good luck! They are wonderful to watch.

4. Creative_1

Creative_1 New Seed

Spot on with the food -- it can get back quickly in hot weather.

If you have any, try hanging baskets on shepherd's hooks -- or large flower pots with colorful annuals. Put those around the feeder and see if it helps. I know that our hummers love the huge lilies that are blooming right now.

5. travelingbooklover

travelingbooklover In Flower

One other thing I forgot to mention- if you place your feeders near windows, you may want to put a decal on the window. I had a feeder near floor to ceiling windows and one male hummingbird fought his own reflection. Luckily, he did not hurt himself and moved the feeder to where I could see it but it wasn't directly in front of the window.