Banana Plant White Fuzz on Shaft/Drying & Browning Leaves

Discussion in 'Plant Pests, Diseases and Weeds' started by Ursi, Jan 30, 2018.

1. Ursi

Ursi New Seed

Hi! I am an amateur "gardener" (mainly grow potted plants) who enjoys growing plants and flowers. Last year (~6 - 8 Months ago) I bought a banana plant from a farmers market and began growing it in a ~14 inch tall clay pot. I eventually switched it over to 14in deep 15.5in diameter pot to accommodate the plant's size. Since bringing it in for the winter is has not been getting as much sun as it usually does and I feel like I might be watering it less often then it got with random thunderstorms outside.

Over time I've noticed that the leaves have been turning brown/slightly yellow, getting dry, and shriveling up. I've also noticed that on the shaft there is a bit of white fuzz that could be fungus but I'm not sure. I've attached some pictures below and appreciate any and all help that can be provided!

[​IMG]
    The banana plant from above.

[​IMG]
    The white fuzz. I should note that before I pulled of two of the dead layers it was more prevalent.

[​IMG]
    This is an alternate view of the banana plant.

2. Loading...

3. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash

it is a very terribly blurry picture but I am guessing spidermites due to the haze of the foliage. see how dull it is? is there a fine spiderweb covering the surface? top and bottom. it also looks to be salt burned or too much fertilizer.

4. Ursi

Ursi New Seed

Sorry for the blurry pictures, I took some more to show the fuzz again as I think that is now the problem. Since this weekend (when I took the photos) the fuzz has gotten fuzzier and really is looking like mold. There is no webbing (Thank God - I would have had a heart attack if there spiders in my room). It could be salt burn I did just add a cap full of food since it's been approximately 6 months in that soil. Below are clear-er photos of the fuzz:

[​IMG]