Chinese / Japanese garden help needed

Discussion in 'Garden Design' started by MsPolly, Mar 6, 2009.

1. MsPolly

MsPolly New Seed

Hi all

I'm hoping that you may be able to help me with some ideas for my garden. Firstly I have no knowledge of gardening so I completely new to this but very willing to learn. I know exactly what I want but have no idea where to start.

So I have quiet a big garden space too big for me too look after myself so I want to take most of the lawn away and plant trees and flowers etc.. I really want A Japanese / Chinese style garden. So help on where to start and what I should include in the garden would be great. What are the names of trees and flowers etc I should add.

I would also quiet fancy a vegetable and herb patch I know this is not really Chinese but I could maybe put it in a different part of the garden.

I am really looking forward to your advice on where I should begin.

Thanks
    Polly x

2. Loading...

3. eileen

eileen Resident Taxonomist Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

There are a number of key elements that make up Japanese gardens, the main of which is the presence of water - preferably moving water or at least a pond. This can look good if surrounded by stones and pebbles, especially if the pond blends into the rest of the garden. An informal irregularly shaped pond is important to get an authentic look. Add water-lilies and perhaps a stone Japanese lantern.

More here: http://uktv.co.uk/gardens/item/aid/901

4. toni

toni Mistress of Garden Junque Staff Member Moderator Plants Contributor

Hi MsPolly,

I took a course from a Master Gardener last year who spoke about creating an Asian feel in your garden. Hopefully this info might help you plan yours.

http://www.gardenstew.com/about8954.html

5. MsPolly

MsPolly New Seed