Computer wiped clean,Everything gone

Discussion in 'Computer and Internet' started by sewNsow, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. sewNsow

    sewNsow In Flower

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Iowa z5
    I posted earlier about some glitches I was having,mostly in the appearance of things.Must have been a quite serious thing as the blue screen instructed the fix was to install disk that came with.Like a dummy I did this & result is like a whole new computer minus all my personal
    bells & whistles.Luckily I have most of my photos either on Facebook.or albums here in Stew & in little external gizmo.I had a lot of installations to do last night.My Kaspersky spy thingy,Browsers,Gmail & a lot of other things yet to do.Printer install is the big thing,yet.
    This is bad because I hate change & it will be hard to get everything like it was.
    sewNsow
     
  2. Loading...


  3. Henry Johnson

    Henry Johnson In Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    720
    Location:
    Sou.Cen. Alabama
    I think that I would be having some serious conversations with Kaspersky (sic) if I were experiencing what you describe..... Hank
     
  4. Palustris

    Palustris Young Pine

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    1,005
    This is why one is advised to Back up the whole Computer to an external hard Drive. When this happened to me, all I had to do was to copy everything back from the external storage to the Computer.
    The Disc which comes with a Computer (or one you are advised to make when you first start up the machine) formats the hard drive before it reinstalls the Windows system etc.
    Sorry you have had so much trouble, it is very frustrating.
     
  5. Sjoerd

    Sjoerd Mighty Oak

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    13,457
    Likes Received:
    5,869
    I am with Palustris on this. I use a program called Acronis to do the backing-up.


    You said above that you still had to install Kaspersky, among other things. I want to say, that actually your virus scanner should have been the FIRST thing that you installed, otherwise you are sanding totally open to all manner of mischief....unless you at least activated your Windows firewall and virus protection. That will give you a degree of protection until you get Kaspersky re-installed.

    Good luck there.
     



    Advertisement
  6. sewNsow

    sewNsow In Flower

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Iowa z5
    Nortons was automaticly installed with the start disk. Also there are some other protection things in windows.
    I am getting it back to where I want it.
    I will have some questions for hereLOL
    sNs
     
  7. Humble Pie

    Humble Pie New Seed

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    Hi sewNsow,

    Don't forget that once you get Kaspersky reinstalled you will need to use the Norton Product Removal tool to ensure that all the residual files are removed to prevent conflict. Having 2 AV's installed on the computer can cause the following:

    • False Alarms: When the anti virus software tells you that your PC has a virus when it actually doesn't.
    • Conflicts: Your system may lock up due to both products attempting to access the same file at the same time.
    • Performance: More that one antivirus will cause your PC to become slow and it may even crash or blue screen.
    • Less protection: Two antivirus trying to scan the same file may interfere with the process and allow a malicious file onto the computer without notice to you.

    You can get the Norton Removal Tool from the link below:

    Norton Removal Tool

    As always, please be careful to read every dialogue box that is presented with any download to prevent from installing foistware such as unwanted toolbars, scanners, browsers, etc. The best way to prevent this is to choose custom install if you are presented with that option.

    If you need further guidance I'd be more than happy to help.

    Good luck! :stew1:
     
  8. sewNsow

    sewNsow In Flower

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Iowa z5
    Hi Humble Pie,I thought I uninstalled Nortons when Kaspersky kicked in. I attempted to anyway.Will malwarebytes & Kaspersky conflict with each other?
    How can I be sure Norton's is gone?
    Computer does seem a bit slow.
    Thanks for the heads up.
    sewNsow
     
  9. Humble Pie

    Humble Pie New Seed

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    Hi sewNsow,

    The slowness could be due to Norton not being uninstalled completely. Just removing it from Add/Remove - Programs and Features doesn't ensure a complete removal of all residual files. That's where the Norton Product Removal tool comes in to play. It will remove all the files/folders in the registry that are left behind. Go ahead and use the tool. It won't affect anything but Norton.

    The slowness could also be due to too many things at startup as well. Won't know till you eliminate the possibility of Norton as being the cause. Let us know how your computer performs after you use the tool.

    No. Malwarebytes and Kaspersky will play well together just fine as any other AV of your choosing.
     

Share This Page