Computers

Discussion in 'The Village Square' started by Doghouse Riley, Nov 6, 2023.

1. Doghouse Riley

Doghouse Riley Young Pine

I've had several computers and laptops over the years, starting with a basic 4M "dial up" over 20 years ago.
    The one I've been using for a few years is a second-hand HP i5, with fingerprint recognition and other nonsense, I don't use not even a password as it never leaves the house. It was a replacement for a rubbish Lenovo that my local computer shop sold and set up for me for £300, transferring everything over from the Lenovo. I back-up photos and mp3s on separate hard drives.Financial stuff is only on the separate hard drives.
    It needed a new mother board a year ago which they replaced at cost and lately I've got a white line a couple of millimetres wide down the edge of the screen. (only noticeable on my black desktop). The socket where it plugs in is a bit loose.
    On Saturday it gave up the ghost and wouldn't start.

So I was already thinking about getting a new one. My wife (who wants nothing to do with computers), said "don't get a cheap one get a decent one you can afford it!"
    But I don't need an all singing and dancing one. Just to be able to send e-mails, access the internet, download stuff and play or burn CDs.
    For years, I'd used Excel to run my financial stuff, but once when changing computers Microsoft wanted me to pay for it again! I think it was around £80. I use "Open Office," a free programme which does everything Excel did for me.

I looked on Curry's website. They've a lot of machines, 444. I settled on an HP at £499.
    I was going to go to Curry's today, but this morning I noticed the mains lead had come out of the laptop's adapter. It's hidden behind my chair and I was on my hands and knees looking for a sim card from one of the trailcams I'd dropped and I notice it.
    So I plugged it in and it was up and running again!