Do I need to cut new vines from my Ruby red grapes?

Discussion in 'Fruit and Veg Gardening' started by ROLFAST, Jun 23, 2011.

1. ROLFAST

ROLFAST New Seed

Hi, I am new to GardenStew and want to know if I need to cut new vines from my Ruby red grapes, since the Vine grows vigorously, making the fruits so small. This vine of mine has been in my garden for about 7 years now and the last 3 years has been giving me small fruits. I also want to know the most effective way to drive away those birds that eat my fruits. :-? 8)

moderator's note: moved topic to more appropriate forum
    moderator's note: added a more descriptive title to topic

2. Loading...

3. AAnightowl

AAnightowl Young Pine

Hi Rolfast, welcome here. Are they ruby red grapefruits, or are they ruby red grapes... ? Hopefully, someone will have a better idea for you.

You can cover the fruit with old sheer curtains or netting that you can buy to cover fruit trees and such. I think some have tried 'scarecrows' of various types too.

4. Jewell

Jewell Incorrigible Gardener Plants Contributor

Puget Sound Region of the Pacific NW,Zone7b
    You need to first determine whether your grape needs to be cane pruned or spur pruned. I believe that your variety is cane pruned. Utube has some great videos on how and when to prune grape vines.

5. ROLFAST

ROLFAST New Seed

My GRAPE is Ruby Red. I prune it the way it should be pruned (cane pruning). Now the fruit it about 1/4 inch round and birds are starting to eat them. I think it will still get bigger but it looks it will not be as big as the one sold at the market. I have netting, but it is very hard to use. It keeps being tangeled every time I move it. I have not tried scare crow yet.

I also use plastic bags I get from the market but last year moisture got inside and messes up the fruits.

moderator's note: removed double posting see point 3.6 of usage rules

Advertisement
  6. carolyn

carolyn Strong Ash